E-Learning and Educational Technology Committee

eLET logo

Overview

The eLearning and Educational Technology (ELET) committee  provides guidance about the “effective implementation and integration of educational technologies to support the academic goals of the VCCS.”  The ELET Committee is established by VCCS policy 2.4.5:

2.4.5 eLearning and Educational Technology CommitteeThe eLearning and Educational Technology Committee for the VCCS shall advise the Vice Chancellor of Academic Services and Research, report regularly to the Academic and Student Affairs Council (ASAC) Educational Technology Committee, and serve as resource to other VCCS governance bodies such as Tech Council, CFAC, etc., regarding policies, strategies, and projects that address the effective implementation and integration of educational technologies to support the academic goals of the VCCS. Annually, each college president shall nominate one college representative to serve a one-year term on the ELET Committee. Representatives may serve for more than one consecutive term, but must be reaffirmed by their college president each year. The Committee body shall meet at least three times a year in person or electronically, at the call of the ELET Chair. The proceedings of the Committee meeting shall be shared publicly and recommendations, reports, and other deliverables shall be distributed to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Services and Research. Recommendations on System-wide policy matters will be forwarded by the Vice Chancellor of Academic Services and Research to the Chancellor who will channel them to appropriate entities (e.g., Academic and Student Affairs Council (ASAC), Advisory Council of Presidents (ACOP), State agencies, etc., for further consideration, review, and/or action. 

The committee typically meets approximately 4-6 times a year.

Members

ELET Members
Displaying 1 - 24 of 24
First Last College Position Email address
Miriam Basinger BRCC LMS Administrator and Educational Technology Specialist basingerm@brcc.edu
Ed McGee CVCC Coordinator for Instructional Technology and Distance Education McGeeE@cvcc.vccs.edu
Jennifer Walz DCC Librarian Jennifer.walz@dcc.vccs.edu
Nova Wright DSLCC Library Director nwright@dslcc.edu
Page Durham GCC Instructional Designer PDurham@germanna.edu
CJ Bracken JSRCC Assistant Coordinator, Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning cjbracken@reynolds.edu
Kenyada McLeod JTCC Instructional Designer Kmcleod@jtcc.edu
Gannon Nordberg LFCC Instructional Technology Specialist gnordberg@lfcc.edu
Susan Kennedy MECC Distance Education Coordinator skennedy@me.vccs.edu
Linda Claussen NRCC Director of Distance Education/Off-Campus Services lclaussen@nr.edu
Preston Davis NVCC Director of Instructional Services wdavis@nvcc.edu
Zac Wade PDCCC Distance Education Assistant ZWade@pdc.edu
Mark Nelson PHCC Distance Learning Specialist and Instructional Technologist mnelson@patrickhenry.edu
John Kingsley PVCC Instructional Designer jfkingsley@pvcc.edu
Tim Hoffman RCC eLearning Specialist thoffman@rappahannock.edu
Terri Milroy SVCC ELearning Specialist terri.milroy@southside.edu
Melissa Stiltner SWCC Learning Assistance Center & Disability Services Manager Melissa.Stiltner@sw.edu
David Tod (Staff) System Office Information Technology Analyst dcartertod@vccs.edu
Sheri Prupis System Office Director, Teaching & Learning Technologies sprupis@vccs.edu
Iris Wang TCC Coordinator of LMS Services iwang@tcc.edu
Jason Vance TNCC E-Campus Coordinator vancej@tncc.edu
Ken Fairbanks VHCC Director of Distance & Distributed Learning kfairbanks@vhcc.edu
Chris Porter VWCC Dean of Learning Resources cporter@virginiawestern.edu
Dave Dick WCC Coordinator of Online Learning and Instructional Technology ddick@wcc.vccs.edu
Displaying 1 - 24 of 24

Mission and Goals

Mission Statement

The mission of the eLearning and Educational Technology Committee (ELET) is to support teaching and learning in the VCCS by promoting instructional tools and design rooted in sound research and supported by best practices. ELET takes a needs-based approach to providing guidance to VCCS students, faculty, staff, and administration for technology selection, implementation, and training in the areas of teaching and learning with technology.

Committee Focus
  1. Accessibility
  2. ELET Academy

Upcoming Meetings

There are currently no upcoming events.