E-Learning and Educational Technology Committee

eLET logo

Overview

The eLearning and Educational Technology (ELET) committee  provides guidance about the “effective implementation and integration of educational technologies to support the academic goals of the VCCS.”  The ELET Committee is established by VCCS policy 2.4.5:

2.4.5 eLearning and Educational Technology CommitteeThe eLearning and Educational Technology Committee for the VCCS shall advise the Vice Chancellor of Academic Services and Research, report regularly to the Academic and Student Affairs Council (ASAC) Educational Technology Committee, and serve as resource to other VCCS governance bodies such as Tech Council, CFAC, etc., regarding policies, strategies, and projects that address the effective implementation and integration of educational technologies to support the academic goals of the VCCS. Annually, each college president shall nominate one college representative to serve a one-year term on the ELET Committee. Representatives may serve for more than one consecutive term, but must be reaffirmed by their college president each year. The Committee body shall meet at least three times a year in person or electronically, at the call of the ELET Chair. The proceedings of the Committee meeting shall be shared publicly and recommendations, reports, and other deliverables shall be distributed to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Services and Research. Recommendations on System-wide policy matters will be forwarded by the Vice Chancellor of Academic Services and Research to the Chancellor who will channel them to appropriate entities (e.g., Academic and Student Affairs Council (ASAC), Advisory Council of Presidents (ACOP), State agencies, etc., for further consideration, review, and/or action. 

The committee typically meets approximately 4-6 times a year.

Members

ELET Members
Displaying 1 - 25 of 25
First Last College Position Email address
Greg Cook BRCC Assistant Professor, Instructional Technology cookg@brcc.edu
Ed McGee CVCC Coordinator for Instructional Technology and Distance Education McGeeE@cvcc.vccs.edu
Bill Dey DCC Director of Learning Resources and Distance Learning wdey@dcc.vccs.edu
Paul Vosteen DSLCC Blackboard Administrator and Website Designer/Developer pvosteen@dslcc.edu
Christina Duffman ESCC English Faculty cduffman@es.vccs.edu
Page Durham GCC Instructional Designer PDurham@germanna.edu
Patrick Whitaker JSRCC Associate Professor, Assistant Coordinator, Center for Distance Learning jwhitaker@reynolds.edu
Kenyada McLeod JTCC Instructional Designer Kmcleod@jtcc.edu
Karen Kellison LFCC Dean of Business, Education & Technology KKellison@lfcc.edu
Susan Kennedy MECC Distance Education Coordinator skennedy@me.vccs.edu
Linda Claussen NRCC Director of Distance Education/Off-Campus Services lclaussen@nr.edu
Preston Davis NVCC Director of Instructional Services wdavis@nvcc.edu
Zac Wade PDCCC Distance Education Assistant ZWade@pdc.edu
Mark Nelson PHCC Distance Learning Specialist and Instructional Technologist mnelson@patrickhenry.edu
John Kingsley PVCC Instructional Designer jfkingsley@pvcc.edu
Tim Hoffman RCC eLearning Specialist thoffman@rappahannock.edu
Ashley Leslie SVCC Instructional Technologist ashley.leslie@southside.edu
Garrett Wright SWCC Blackboard Specialist garrett.wright@sw.edu
David Tod (Staff) System Office Information Technology Analyst dcartertod@vccs.edu
Richard Sebastian (Staff) System Office Director of Teaching and Learning Technologies rsebastian@vccs.edu
Tim Jacox TCC Classroom Technology Manager tjacox@tcc.edu
Ruth Smith TNCC Director of Distance and Distributed Learning smithru@tncc.edu
Pam Conley VHCC Information Technology Specialist pconley@vhcc.edu
B Bagby VWCC Head Media Geek bbagby@virginiawestern.edu
Ken Fairbanks WCC Director of Distance & Distributed Learning kfairbanks@wcc.vccs.edu
Displaying 1 - 25 of 25

Mission and Goals

Mission Statement

The mission of the eLearning and Educational Technology Committee (ELET) is to support teaching and learning in the VCCS by promoting instructional tools and design rooted in sound research and supported by best practices. ELET takes a needs-based approach to providing guidance to VCCS students, faculty, staff, and administration for technology selection, implementation, and training in the areas of teaching and learning with technology.

Committee Focus
  1. Accessibility
  2. ELET Academy

Upcoming Meetings

There are currently no upcoming events.